Mystery Mix 007 - September 2004

Al Kent

01. Clarence Mann - Sadity Lady pt. 1&2
02. Lamont Dozier - Nobody Told Me
03. Sandy Barber - I Think I'll Do Some Stepping On My Own
04. Le Frank O - Keep on Getting Down pt. 1&2
05. Pleze - Disco 2000
06. Sound Experience - Boogie Woogie
07. Disco Warriors - Cumbayah Disco pt. 2
08. Major Symphony - Tragedy
09. Ike Strong - Keep Me Dancing
10. Lifestyle - Trying To Make It Up To You
11. Eon - We'll Go On

Al Kent was born under a bad sign (or was it a good sign?). Growing up as a wee boy in Auchtermuchty, Al fantasised about the dreamy spires and clear blue skies of the heady metropolis of Dunfermline. "When I grow up," thought Al, "I want to live here". With its endless supply of northern soul records and, moreover, ready supply of amphetamines, you could see his point.

But acid house intervened and before you could say Modular Expansion Unit, the young Al was raving the night away in the fleshpots of Fife. Gradually, he built his record collection, now assiduously accumulating many records of the disco variety, as well as his beloved fife & pipe bands. DJ spots arrived, as did the bus (Auchtermuchty is never further than a bus ride away, as Gwen Guthrie once sang).

With international fame beckoning, Al Kent is one of the foremost collectors of rare disco (and fife and pipe bands), who travels far (Aberdeen) and wide (Stranraer) playing those records to appreciative, not to say, adoring audiences. We are privileged to have him here.


< prev mix